Gratis verzending vanaf €24,99

The Safekeep


Engels | 30-05-2024 | 256 pagina's

9780241652305

Hardback


€ 23,80


 Voorraad in de winkel

   Bestelbaar

   Retourtermijn binnen 14 dagen

   Verzendkosten €1,95 | Gratis verzending boven de €24,99




Tekst achterflap

'Surprising, chilling, and electric. The Safekeep is a simply fantastic work of literature.' Alice Winn, bestselling author of IN MEMORIAM 'A house is a precious thing...' An exhilarating tale of twisted desire, histories and homes, and the unexpected shape of revenge - for readers of Patricia Highsmith, Sarah Waters and Ian McEwan's Atonement It's 1961 and the rural Dutch province of Overijssel is quiet. Bomb craters have been filled, buildings reconstructed, and the war is well and truly over. Living alone in her late mother's country home, Isabel's life is as it should be: led by routine and discipline. But all is upended when her brother Louis delivers his graceless new girlfriend, Eva, at Isabel's doorstep-as a guest, there to stay for the season... Eva is Isabel's antithesis: sleeps late, wakes late, walks loudly through the house and touches things she shouldn't. In response Isabel develops a fury-fuelled obsession, and when things start disappearing around the house-a spoon, a knife, a bowl-Isabel' suspicions spiral out of control. In the sweltering peak of summer, Isabel's paranoia gives way to desire - leading to a discovery that unravels all Isabel has ever known. The war might not be well and truly over after all, and neither Eva - nor the house in which they live - are what they seem.

Details

EAN :9780241652305
Auteur: 
Uitgever :Veltman Distributie Import Books
Publicatie datum :  30-05-2024
Uitvoering :Hardback
Taal/Talen : Engels
Hoogte :207 mm
Breedte :137 mm
Dikte :24 mm
Gewicht :316 gr
Status : Bestelbaar
Aantal pagina's :256